Four Pillars

In 1919, The American Legion was founded on four pillars: Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, National Security, Americanism, and Children & Youth. Each of these pillars encompasses a variety of programs that benefit our nation’s veterans, its servicemembers, their families, the youth of America and ordinary citizens. These programs make a difference in hundreds of thousands of lives each year.

Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation
National Security
Children & Youth
  • Support for the Troops
  • Size of the Armed Forces
  • Quality of Life
  • Homeland Security
  • POW/MIAs
  • Operation Comfort Warriors
  • Flag Protection
  • Illegal Immigration
  • Voter Registration and Participation
  • Boy Scouts of America
  • The Pledge of Allegiance
  • Establishment-Cause Lawsuits
  • Legacy Run
  • Boys Nation
  • American Legion Baseball
  • Child Pornography
  • Catastrophic Illness
  • Intellectual Disabilities
  • Immunization
  • Family Integrity
  • Media Violence
  • Drug Abuse
  • Child Sexual Exploitation
  • Family Support Network
  • Temporary Financial Assistance
  • Samsung Scholarship
  • Child Welfare Foundation